Writing Ideas – Vampire Novel, part 142, action Writing skills how to develop Storyline, Entertaining, Rising Action

23 November 2014, Writing Ideas – Vampire Novel, part 142, action Writing skills how to develop Storyline, Entertaining, Rising Action

Announcement:  Ancient Light is in publication and you can buy it at almost any internet book sellers or order it from any brick and mortar bookstore.  You can read about it at http://www.ancientlight.com.  Ancient Light includes the second edition of Aegypt plus Sister of Light and Sister of Darkness.  I’ll keep you updated.

Introduction: I wrote the novel Aksinya: Enchantment and the Daemon. This was my 21st novel and through this blog, I gave you the entire novel in installments that included commentary on the writing. In the commentary, in addition to other general information on writing, I explained, how the novel was constructed, the metaphors and symbols in it, the writing techniques and tricks I used, and the way I built the scenes. You can look back through this blog and read the entire novel beginning with http://www.pilotlion.blogspot.com/2010/10/new-novel-part-3-girl-and-demon.html.

I’m using this novel as an example of how I produce, market, and eventually (we hope) get a novel published. I’ll keep you informed along the way.

Today’s Blog: To see the steps in the publication process, visit my writing website http://www.ldalford.com/ and select “production schedule,” you will be sent to http://www.sisteroflight.com/.

The four plus one basic rules I employ when writing:

1. Don’t confuse your readers.
2. Entertain your readers.
3. Ground your readers in the writing.
4. Don’t show (or tell) everything.
5. Immerse yourself in the world of your writing.

All novels have five discrete parts:
1.  The initial scene (the beginning)
2.  The rising action
3.  The climax
4.  The falling action
5.  The dénouement

The theme statement of my newest novel, Valeska, is this: An agent of the organization becomes involved with a vampire girl during a mission, she becomes dependent on the agent, and she is redeemed.

Here is my proposed cover for Valeska:

I decided on a white cover style.  You can see more at www.GoddessofDarkness.com.

Action content and word usage to build entertainment in description is accomplished by the careful selection of the right verbs and through figures of speech.  It is impossible to not use some identity constructions in description, but a good writer attempts to reduce identity constructions as much as possible.  An identity construction is made through the use of is, was, am, were, and are.  For example, “the chair was yellow” is an identity construction.  Something better (and more entertaining), the chair exuded the feeling of mustard–it smelled a little of old hotdog.  This is just an example to get you thinking–I’m not sure I’d use it in one of my novels, but the point is to not just state (identify) a thing with a simple verb, but to use verbs other than is, are, was, am, or were.  Additionally, you can see in the improved example, I added smell to the description.

Descriptions are more than visual.  Descriptions must incorporate all the senses.  In setting a scene, the writer needs to consciously include all five senses.  Contemplate the imagination of your readers to be a framework in more than one dimension.  That framework has five dimensions.  I wrote before that a writer does not fully describe anything.  A writer builds a framework for the imagination of the reader–that framework has five dimensions.  If you leave one or more dimension out, you will not engage the true power of your reader’s imagination.  On the other hand, don’t inundate your readers with unimportant or unneeded information.  Descriptions should be sufficient, entertaining, filled with action, and reasonable.  The reason I gave you this as an assignment and as an example first is because the scene setting (description) is the beginning of every scene.  There are other types of descriptions as well.

More tomorrow.

For more information, you can visit my author site http://www.ldalford.com/, and my individual novel websites:



About L.D. Alford

L. D. Alford is a novelist whose writing explores with originality those cultures and societies we think we already know. His writing distinctively develops the connections between present events and history—he combines them with threads of reality that bring the past alive. L. D. Alford is familiar with technology and cultures—he is widely traveled and earned a B.S. in Chemistry from Pacific Lutheran University, an M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Boston University, a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from The University of Dayton, and is a graduate of Air War College, Air Command and Staff College, and the USAF Test Pilot School. L. D. Alford is an author who combines intimate scientific and cultural knowledge into fiction worlds that breathe reality. He is the author of three historical fiction novels: Centurion, Aegypt, and The Second Mission, and three science fiction novels: The End of Honor, The Fox’s Honor, and A Season of Honor.
This entry was posted in Daemon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s