Writing Ideas – New Novel, part 200, Paganism, Legal-Historical Method and Other’s Conversation, Methods of Revelation How to Develop Storyline, Rising Action

20 January 2015, Writing Ideas – New Novel, part 200, Paganism, Legal-Historical Method and Other’s Conversation, Methods of Revelation How to Develop Storyline, Rising Action

Announcement:  Ancient Light is in publication, and you can buy it at almost any internet book sellers or order it from any brick and mortar bookstore.  You can read about it at http://www.ancientlight.com.  Ancient Light includes the second edition of Aegypt plus Sister of Light and Sister of Darkness.  I’ll keep you updated.

Introduction: I wrote the novel Aksinya: Enchantment and the Daemon. This was my 21st novel and through this blog, I gave you the entire novel in installments that included commentary on the writing. In the commentary, in addition to other general information on writing, I explained, how the novel was constructed, the metaphors and symbols in it, the writing techniques and tricks I used, and the way I built the scenes. You can look back through this blog and read the entire novel beginning with http://www.pilotlion.blogspot.com/2010/10/new-novel-part-3-girl-and-demon.html.

I’m using this novel as an example of how I produce, market, and eventually (we hope) get a novel published. I’ll keep you informed along the way.

Today’s Blog: To see the steps in the publication process, visit my writing website http://www.ldalford.com/ and select “production schedule,” you will be sent to http://www.sisteroflight.com/.

The four plus one basic rules I employ when writing:

1. Don’t confuse your readers.
2. Entertain your readers.
3. Ground your readers in the writing.
4. Don’t show (or tell) everything.
5. Immerse yourself in the world of your writing.

All novels have five discrete parts:
1.  The initial scene (the beginning)
2.  The rising action
3.  The climax
4.  The falling action
5.  The dénouement

The theme statement of my newest novel, Valeska, is this: An agent of the organization becomes involved with a vampire girl during a mission, she becomes dependent on the agent, and she is redeemed.

Here is my proposed cover for Valeska:

I decided on a white cover style.  You can see more at www.GoddessofDarkness.com.

The purpose of a novel is to reveal the protagonist and usually the protagonist’s helper.  The author needs to place them in circumstance that allows them to reveal themselves.  The means can be conversation, exploration, discovery, other’s conversation, confession, accidental discovery.

There are three ways to know truth: the scientific method, the historical-witness method, and logic. The three tests used for all documentary evidence in history are: the bibliographical test, the internal test, and the external test.  Let’s see how we can use these tests.

The way people think about the world is rooted in their religious (spiritual) view of the world–no kidding.  There are four stages in religious thinking (religions):
1.  Animism – gods in everything, man is fated
2.  Pantheonic Paganism – gods rule certain things and both man and god are fated
3.  Mysterium – gods rule and man can know god through rituals and education
4.  Gnosticism – god is there and man can be like him through knowledge

Paganism comes out of animism with the development of literacy.  When a culture becomes literate, it also gains the means to express new ideas that are completely impossible without literacy.  For example, there is no way for a preliterate society to express something like love.  Without a written word, it is impossible to express ideas that are not fully concrete.  Words like “love” can’t be expressed without a means to write it.  In a preliterate society, it is impossible to express ideas that are not specific.  For example, if I say the word chair, a literate person sees the word in their mind–there are too many types of “chairs” for a person to imagine a chair without the word.  In a preliterate society, the word chair can only bring up a specific “chair” and not a general word “chair.”  It is much worse for a word like love–how can you imagine a word as complex as love without a written word, “love?”

A literate culture also begins to develop new concepts that require new words.  For example, words for music, writing, art, metallurgy, etc.  The pagan culture also needs new gods–gods who represent these new words and ideas.  In animism, there are gods in everything.  In paganism, gods fill very specific niches in the culture.  Gods fulfill the place of very critical ideas: love, music, metal, etc.   Thus, we see in the Greek culture Apollo (the sun god) becomes the god of music and the sun.  The goddess of wisdom (Athena) leaps fully armed from the mind of Zeus.  The goddess of love (Aphrodite) is birthed of sea foam from the Aegean.  The Greeks need a god of metal and a god of literature and a god of weaving.  These gods come directly out of the development of civilization.  There is more, animism means there are gods in everything.  Paganism makes everything more specific.

More tomorrow.

For more information, you can visit my author site http://www.ldalford.com/, and my individual novel websites:



About L.D. Alford

L. D. Alford is a novelist whose writing explores with originality those cultures and societies we think we already know. His writing distinctively develops the connections between present events and history—he combines them with threads of reality that bring the past alive. L. D. Alford is familiar with technology and cultures—he is widely traveled and earned a B.S. in Chemistry from Pacific Lutheran University, an M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Boston University, a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from The University of Dayton, and is a graduate of Air War College, Air Command and Staff College, and the USAF Test Pilot School. L. D. Alford is an author who combines intimate scientific and cultural knowledge into fiction worlds that breathe reality. He is the author of three historical fiction novels: Centurion, Aegypt, and The Second Mission, and three science fiction novels: The End of Honor, The Fox’s Honor, and A Season of Honor.
This entry was posted in Daemon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s