Writing Ideas – New Novel, part 205, more Gnosticism, Legal-Historical Method and Other’s Conversation, Methods of Revelation How to Develop Storyline, Rising Action

25 January 2015, Writing Ideas – New Novel, part 205, more Gnosticism, Legal-Historical Method and Other’s Conversation, Methods of Revelation How to Develop Storyline, Rising Action

Announcement:  Ancient Light is in publication, and you can buy it at almost any internet book sellers or order it from any brick and mortar bookstore.  You can read about it at http://www.ancientlight.com.  Ancient Light includes the second edition of Aegypt plus Sister of Light and Sister of Darkness.  I’ll keep you updated.

Introduction: I wrote the novel Aksinya: Enchantment and the Daemon. This was my 21st novel and through this blog, I gave you the entire novel in installments that included commentary on the writing. In the commentary, in addition to other general information on writing, I explained, how the novel was constructed, the metaphors and symbols in it, the writing techniques and tricks I used, and the way I built the scenes. You can look back through this blog and read the entire novel beginning with http://www.pilotlion.blogspot.com/2010/10/new-novel-part-3-girl-and-demon.html.

I’m using this novel as an example of how I produce, market, and eventually (we hope) get a novel published. I’ll keep you informed along the way.

Today’s Blog: To see the steps in the publication process, visit my writing website http://www.ldalford.com/ and select “production schedule,” you will be sent to http://www.sisteroflight.com/.

The four plus one basic rules I employ when writing:

1. Don’t confuse your readers.
2. Entertain your readers.
3. Ground your readers in the writing.
4. Don’t show (or tell) everything.
5. Immerse yourself in the world of your writing.

All novels have five discrete parts:
1.  The initial scene (the beginning)
2.  The rising action
3.  The climax
4.  The falling action
5.  The dénouement

The theme statement of my newest novel, Valeska, is this: An agent of the organization becomes involved with a vampire girl during a mission, she becomes dependent on the agent, and she is redeemed.

Here is my proposed cover for Valeska:

I decided on a white cover style.  You can see more at www.GoddessofDarkness.com.

The purpose of a novel is to reveal the protagonist and usually the protagonist’s helper.  The author needs to place them in circumstance that allows them to reveal themselves.  The means can be conversation, exploration, discovery, other’s conversation, confession, accidental discovery.

There are three ways to know truth: the scientific method, the historical-witness method, and logic. The three tests used for all documentary evidence in history are: the bibliographical test, the internal test, and the external test.  Let’s see how we can use these tests.

The way people think about the world is rooted in their religious (spiritual) view of the world–no kidding.  There are four stages in religious thinking (religions):
1.  Animism – gods in everything, man is fated
2.  Pantheonic Paganism – gods rule certain things and both man and god are fated
3.  Mysterium – gods rule and man can know god through rituals and education
4.  Gnosticism – god is there and man can be like him through knowledge

During the Age of Reason, the question of the day was empiricism verses logic.  Those on the side of logic argued that logic alone could be used to describe the universe.  Those on the side of empiricism argued that empiricism alone could be used to describe the universe.  The question was deeper than that however.  We haven’t looked at logic–yet.  We will.  Using logic, I can describe and understand things that both exist and don’t exist in physical reality.  Mathematics is an example of a subject that is governed by logic and does not exist in physical reality.  I’ll explain how when we get to logic.  Be that as it may, empiricism can only be used to look at subjects (things) that are physically real.  The real battle during the Age of Reason was between the reality of the physical world that can only be described through empiricism and the real world that requires both logic and empiricism.  Both sides were wrong, but the really wrong side won.

Because the empiricists won, we entered the Age of Enlightenment with a prejudice against logic and anything that couldn’t be proven by empiricism.  Thus, Thomas Jefferson, because he was an empiricist couldn’t imagine the Gospels with miracles and wrote his own version with the miracles expunged.  Thomas Jefferson was a logical man, and he understood the legal-historical method–his prejudice did not allow him to conceive of anything outside of the empirical universe.  This mindset has permeated the modern world–so much that people unintelligently require empirical evidence for everything.  Unfortunately, there can’t be empirical evidence for anything that can’t be repeated.  I can only apply empiricism to events and subjects that can be proven using the scientific method.  The scientific method only works for repeatable events.  You must use the legal-historical method for events and subjects that can’t be repeated.  In other words empirical proof must take into account the legal-historical method.  There is yet another important tool to know truth–it is logic.

More tomorrow.

For more information, you can visit my author site http://www.ldalford.com/, and my individual novel websites:



About L.D. Alford

L. D. Alford is a novelist whose writing explores with originality those cultures and societies we think we already know. His writing distinctively develops the connections between present events and history—he combines them with threads of reality that bring the past alive. L. D. Alford is familiar with technology and cultures—he is widely traveled and earned a B.S. in Chemistry from Pacific Lutheran University, an M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Boston University, a Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from The University of Dayton, and is a graduate of Air War College, Air Command and Staff College, and the USAF Test Pilot School. L. D. Alford is an author who combines intimate scientific and cultural knowledge into fiction worlds that breathe reality. He is the author of three historical fiction novels: Centurion, Aegypt, and The Second Mission, and three science fiction novels: The End of Honor, The Fox’s Honor, and A Season of Honor.
This entry was posted in Daemon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s